Backloggiversary! What The Hell Is That?

3 years ago today, I came upon a site called Backloggery. It’s a site where you can post games you’re playing, that you’ve beaten, that you own, and so on. It’s meant as a place to help motivate you into finishing everything you have as well as brag about your own personal accolades. You can even put in comments, ratings for games, make note your achievement points, and so on.

In celebration of this, I’m going to kind of pimp out what I’ve been playing in order of most frequently updated to least. And don’t forget, as I usually do, there are youtube links embedded in the pics. Enjoy!

Torchlight (Steam)

Ah, Torchlight…also known as Diablo in 3D. You know, it’s funny…I thought more people knew about Torchlight. Everyone kept wondering why I hadn’t picked up Diablo 3 yet, to which I always respond “well I’m sure Diablo 3 is magical, but I’m not so sure with some of the server issues I’ve been hearing…plus, I’m waiting for Torchlight 2.” And that’s when I usually get a lot of head scratching.

Effectively it’s exactly what the original Diablo would be were it in 3D, had more interesting character classes, if pets were added that assists as both allies and a liason between merchants, had added fishing, had achievements, and borrowed a lot from Diablo 2 as well. In other words, it’s like the original Diablo, but on CRACK. Now, the reason I say it’s not like Diablo 2 in 3D is because it doesn’t focus on lots of travel, just pure dungeon delving.

All in all, it’s a very fun and addicting title that’s well worth checking out if you’ve never heard of it. And hey, if you pre-order Torchlight 2, you get a copy of the original for free!

La Pucelle Tactics (PS2)

La Pucelle is a great game that constantly got overlooked by me back in the day. No, it’s not as great as Disgaea and a number of other Nippon Ichi titles, but it’s still a very fun title with a lot of interesting concepts. Effectively, it’s an SRPG very similar to Disgaea, but based on exorcism. The cast of characters is pretty good, the voice acting is spot on, and the difficulty is just right.

Shin Megami Tensei – Devil Survivor (NDS)

You can check out my review here. Yep, another SRPG, this time from the good ol’ boys of Shin Megami Tensei. Basically what I’ve been doing here is instead of purely running through the game, I’ve been grinding. Seems boring, I know, but what it boils down to is in a LOT of SMT games, you must grind. Thing is, I don’t really want to grind all the time, nor do I necessarily want to grind the same way each time, so often I’ll pick up and put down a title for grinding purposes if I feel I’m not really making progress any other way.

Castlevania – Order of Ecclesia (NDS)

While I think my favorite DS Castlevania title is still Dawn of Sorrow, this comes in at a close second. There are a lot of great visual effects, the music and sound is great…but good goddamn is this one rough. I mean, ROUGH. It’s like they switched it all the way to hard mode and offered you no option to crank it down. I mean, it’s fun, but JEEZ. I’m stuck, as usual, on the giant crab boss in the lighthouse.

Witch’s Tale (NDS)

Not gonna lie, this isn’t a very good game. Now to be fair, I’m not a big fan of games that rely too much on the touch screen unless it’s something like, say, Under the Knife, an adventure game, or whatever. It’s a Nippon Ichi title, but it’s really a very generic RPG. I mean, more generic than Rhapsody generic. Well, maybe that’s not very fair to Rhapsody, but I digress.

So why play it? Eh, mostly because it’s still fun, just not very good. I’m going to give it a little longer to impress me and if it fails, it’s going bye bye. It’s kind of like a crossover between Nightmare Before Christmas and the feel of Disgaea, but as a fairly standard turn-based RPG revolving around exploration. Yeah, kinda meh.

Final Fantasy 3 (NDS)

You can check out my review here. As much as I harped on this title, why bother playing it? Well, let me be honest. With as much as I talk about Final Fantasy, you’d think I’d have beaten them all, right? Nope. Actually, if we’re talking about just the main series, I’ve only beaten 1, 4, 6, 7, and 8. That’s right, I’ve only beaten 5 out of 14 of them, not counting 11 and 14, but including 10-2 and 13-2.

That’s…a pretty low number. It’s especially depressing because I used to promote the shit out of Squaresoft back in the day and I’ve beaten a lot of their other products, but not so much on the Final Fantasy front. So yeah, not a fan, but I want to beat it just to say I have, basically.

Super Robot Taisen OG Saga – Endless Frontier (NDS)

You can check out my review here. With as much as I’ve gone on about this one, if you really need me to explain anything, either you’re new here, you’ve not been paying attention, or you just really don’t care for this kind of game. I. LOVE. THIS. GAME. It can get repetitive, but never boring. Sometimes grind heavy, maybe even cheap at times (like bosses that kill you in one combo), but always it’s fun and challenging.

Numen – Contest of Heroes (Steam)

I got this, as I’m sure many did, on a steam sale…on a game that was already ridiculously low in price. And it’s pretty obvious why. No, it’s not a BAD game, but there are a number of questionable design choices that make the game fairly generic, sometimes frustrating, and with lots of awkward controls. It’s kinda hard to even describe the game, so I’ll rip something from the steam page here…

“Nine deities. Nine heroes. And only one champion. Mythical Greece. The land of gods, poets, heroes, but also of terrible monsters and creatures. Numen is a fully three-dimensional action RPG set in mythical Greece.” They hype the shit out of it, but really, it’s kinda boring and mediocre. Still, right now it’s only $2.50…so there is that.

Xenoblade Chronicles (Wii)

You can check out my review here. Actually, I might play this today if I don’t fire up Torchlight first. This game is incredible. I mean, I’m not even exaggerating. You can simply go around grinding and doing various questing while exploring, or you can progress the main storyline which will, not might, but WILL recapture your attention every single time. It literally is as though the creators of some of our favorite RPGs from the 90s got together for one last hurrah..and that hurrah was Xenoblade.

Valkyrie Profile – Covenant of the Plume (NDS)

Sadly, the original Valkyrie Profile didn’t win in the year 2000, but thankfully this is another GOOD Valkyrie Profile game…unlike the meh-worthy Valkyrie Profile 2. This one takes a very dark stance on the whole valkyrie theme by having you become “the one who will slay the valkryie”…or so the game claims. There are a lot of interesting mechanics borrowed from the original VP for this engaging, fun, and at times challenging SRPG.

Dragon Warrior 2 (NES)

…because I can. Okay, maybe that’s not enough information. Look, only recently did I beat the original Dragon Warrior…and that’s the only one I’ve ever beaten. Even 8 and 9, which I go on and on about…I’ve still not beaten. Oh, I HAVE beaten Rocket Slime, but that doesn’t really count. I feel like I should beat the classics at the very least, so with FAQ in hand, I’ve pressed onward!

Just Cause 2 (Steam)

You can check out my review here. What more can I really say? It’s pretty, you get to blow shit up, all kinds of crazy features are at your disposal, you can’t really “die” per se, and it just feels damn good to pop this one in every so often to destroy stuff after a bad day. Or a good day. Or ANY day.

Legend of Grimrock (Steam)

You can check out my review here. Yeah, I’ve let this one collect a bit of dust and here’s why. It’s coming to the point that I MUST have an FAQ handy every time I want to play. Much like traditional dungeon crawlers, the game likes to fuck with you and warp you around randomly when you’re doing different puzzles. It gets old quick and makes it necessary to either have a LOT of patience to figure it out or bail out and get an FAQ.

I’ve chosen the latter and not because I want to ruin the experience, but because up to that point I WAS having a lot of fun. In fact, I’m still having fun with FAQ in hand, so really, it’s not taking away from anything. Still, I often feel as though I’m cheating myself, so I don’t hop into it as much as I normally would.

Conclusion


GAEMZ R FUNNN

Normally I wouldn’t make an article just going over what I’d been playing, but I felt I probably should to sort of highlight my “backloggiversary” and Backloggery in general. Standard articles will continue tomorrow. So now I’ll open it up to you. What have you been playing? Have you played any of the games I’ve mentioned? Let me know in the comments!

1 Comment

Filed under NDS, NES, Nintendo, PC, PS2, Retro, Sony, Videogames, Wii

One response to “Backloggiversary! What The Hell Is That?

  1. cynic667

    *g* FF 3… get used to cursing a lot in the last dungeon. Up until there the game is really easy, but that one…. It’s long, has a variety of bosses, the endboss can be just cheap and, worst of all: No savepoint. Cruel ;P

    PS: If you need a contact to unlock the onion knight shoot me a mail.

Leave a Reply

