The Great Steam Roundup – Episode 10

This time I’ve decided to go with as many packages as possible. No, it’s not because I’m trying to knock out every single game I have as quickly as possible. Mostly it’s just that for a lot of these I didn’t realize they were within packages and you typically get better deals with said packages, so there you go. All in all, pretty decent games this time around, so let’s get started!

Shadowgrounds Pack

Current selling price: $12.99

Shadowgrounds is a game that won’t appeal to everyone and honestly, it’s doesn’t appeal to me that greatly either. Effectively it’s a third person shooter with a top-down perspective and very little else going for it. The story is lame, the graphical quality is lame, the animations are lame, the voice acting is lame…I mean, it really doesn’t have much going for it besides the action.

And unfortunately, even the action isn’t as great as it could be. Now I’ve only played the original Shadowgrounds, not the sequel included in the pack. Furthermore, at a mere $13, you get two actiony shooters, so it’s your call. Honestly, I don’t feel ripped off at that price, but it seriously could be loads better in the quality department.

Grotesque Tactics 1 and 2 Pack

Current selling price: $14.99

And to a degree, the same rule applies here. You can’t feel totally ripped off at only $15, but you have to wonder if the quality doesn’t match that price. On the one hand, both games can be pretty funny at times, what with attempting to parody a wide variety of games and pop culture references. On the other, it often comes off as clumsy and the gameplay reflects roughly the same.

There are many times where luck is valued more than skill, so regular saves are a must. I still have fun with these titles, but only in small bursts. If you enjoy parody games and you’re willing to put up with some seriously clumsy, flimsy design, these games may be right for you. Just keep in mind that, much like Pyst and Driven (parodies of Myst and Riven), you may be getting more parody and less game at times.

Peggle Complete

Current selling price: $14.98

Peggle. Well, what can you say? It’s fucking Peggle. It’s part puzzle game, part platformer, part skill, and part luck. You shoot a ball out and attempt to take out all the red pegs. Blue pegs, and many other things, give you bonus points, but that’s about it. Sure, there are powerups, different masters, all kinds of different play modes, and so on, but that’s pretty much all there is to say about Peggle.

Honestly, it’s only $15, it has a bunch of depth, it’s highly addictive, you can play with your friends, AND it’s two whole versions of Peggle. I wish there was more to say because Peggle is a damn fun game, but like many casual games (Diner Dash, Plants vs. Zombies, Bejeweled, etc.), the beauty is in its simplicity. Often you’re still playing for hours on end and you can’t quite say why, other than “just one more level.”

Penumbra Collector Pack

Current selling price: $19.98

From the makers of Amnesia – The Dark Descent. There, now buy it. Oh okay, I guess I’ll say a little more. I’m not going to ruin anything about the story, firstly because I’m not a total jerk and secondly because I don’t remember a whole lot about it. What I will say is the developer, Frictional Games, does a phenomenal job in creating a creepy atmosphere, hair-raising moments, and clever puzzles for you to solve all the while.

For $20, you get three Penumbra titles: Overture, Black Plague, and Requiem, which is apparently an expansion to Black Plague…so I’m not entirely certain how that’s supposed to work, but whatever. I’ve only played Overture (first in the series), but I was impressed enough with that, so I can definitely vouch for the others. If you’ve been on the fence about Amnesia, definitely check these out so you can get an idea of what you’re in for.

Thirty Flights of Loving

Current selling price: $4.99

I won’t lie…many people will be turned off by how ridiculously short this game is. I finished it in one sitting, which is no tall claim for me…but it felt like it was just one mission in an FPS and that’s it. Oh, it’s an incredible story, for sure…but was it worth $5? Well, that will be up to the judgment of the player ultimately. I can’t say it was a complete ripoff because it certainly was an experience…I was just hoping that it was also going to be an actual game.

Conclusion

And that’s about it. Honestly, I could probably make a few more of these, but I’d really rather get some more commentary, full review, and game of the year articles up soon. It may take a while on the latter because I don’t want to miss any titles, but I’ll probably get started on a few as soon as this is knocked out. Oh hey, it’s knocked out already! See you next time.

Leave a comment

Filed under PC, Steam Roundup, Videogames

Leave a Reply

