Steam Roundup – Episode 15

I apologize in advance for having one disappointing game this time around. And really, it’s not a BAD game, I just figured it would be…well, better. It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these and I’ve got a number of great titles to show you. Honestly, there isn’t a whole lot else to say, so let’s just dive right into it!

Legend of Dungeon

Current Selling Price: $9.99

This is the disappointing one. And it’s pretty obvious why I got attracted to it: it has an oldschool look and feel and definitely plays very oldschool. However, it’s permadeath, just like Hack Slash Loot, another roguelike that I’m not very fond of. Maybe it’ll just be a matter of playing this one a little more to warm up to it, I don’t know.

It kinda reminds me of the old Temple of Doom game for the NES, but it’s a roguelike. The way it works is it’s an action/RPG, but very easy to die, kinda like Dark Souls. That sounds like it should be right up my alley, right? And then suddenly, permadeath. It’d be one thing if it robbed you of a level and put you back a stage or something, but no, game over.

I’ve never been a big fan of permadeath especially considering the way you often learn from games is by making mistakes. Sure, permadeath makes it harder and forces you to be more careful, but it also makes the game more frustrating to the point that it will only appeal to a select few people…and I’m not one of them. Still, it has an interesting visual look and is fairly fun until you die, so if you like the price, go for it.

Knights of Pen and Paper +1

Current Selling Price: $9.99

This is one that I’d been playing on and off alongside Grand Theft Auto 5. You’ve gotta understand, GTA5 is addictive enough that pretty much everything else fell by the wayside, so that’s really saying something. Knights is a really fun game that’s about…well, gaming. Specifically, it parodies tabletop RPGs, dungeon masters, and so on.

You get to form a party of up to five people with varying classes such as fighter, paladin, and so on…but with real people such as little brother, jock, nerd, and so on. The combination of the two forces kind of creates a whole new class in most cases, fully capable of being stronger within their respective classes or at the very least more interesting.

In fact, you can change everything including the toys on the table, back pieces, dungeon master himself, and so on in order to modify various bonuses, buffs, and the like. I’ve never played that much into tabletop, but this game is nothing but addictive and it’s easy to see why. If you like RPGs or in general you’re looking for something easy to pick up and play, this one’s for you.

Shadowrun Returns

Current Selling Price: $19.99

I was really surprised I hadn’t reviewed this one already. In fact, I keep double checking to see if maybe I listed it as something else or reviewed it in some other fashion, but I don’t see anything. As you should know, I’m a huge fan of the Shadowrun series. I was disgusted when the last one was little more than a FPS.

There are really only two complaints I can make about this one. Firstly, the decking concept is really nothing more than a shiny overlay. Yeah, it’s still just turn-based strategy. There’s no real hacking or whatever, which is kind of a letdown. Second, it’s a little too straightforward. There’s no real sense of backtracking or grinding or whatever, which could throw some people off.

That said, it perfectly captures the Shadowrun universe, is beautifully detailed, has all kinds of great stats and powerups and the whole nine yards, and is a must for any Shadowrun fan. Once the community latches onto this one with additional campaigns it will be that much better, but even the default campaign gives you a good idea of how involved it can be.

Apogee Throwback Pack

Current Selling Price: $9.99

I would say this was disappointing too, but it’s more of a disappointment in myself. When you play a certain type of game a certain type of way long enough, you can’t just go back to the way it used to be easily. Case in point: the old Rise of the Triad and Blake Stone games. This was back when the name Apogee actually meant something.

I say it’s disappointing looking at myself because I’ve forgotten how to not WASD. See, back in the old days, you moved forward and backward and turned with the arrow keys, then had to hold down alt if you wanted to sidestep. It seems rather counter-intuitive if you’re used to the WASD system and it’s really hard to go back.

Worse still, the games don’t make it much easier because the key bindings are hard to manipulate and often don’t want to work with the mouse. That said, IF you can manage to retrain your hands, this is a great set of nostalgia that shouldn’t be passed up. Maybe I can get the joystick to cooperate…hmmmm.

Rise of the Triad (2013)

Current Selling Price: $14.99

Hell fucking yes! The new Rise of the Triad stands and delivers as one of the best remakes I’ve ever seen for any game…ever! Honestly, it’s hard for me to summarize exactly what makes this remake so amazing without going OMG DID YOU EVEN WATCH THE MOTHERFUCKING VIDEO, MENG?!

It really is as epic as the video portrays. The action is over the top, the enemies are total pushovers, the enemies explode into millions of pieces when hit with anything even remotely explosive, the music kicks ass, the levels are very classically styled…actually the levels may be the one weak point.

See, these days there are plenty of places for cover, there’s lots of emphasis on pop-in/pop-out gameplay, and you can actually jump. In this one you have to rely on elevators, jump panels, and whatever else to get around…and the game takes this and runs with it. There are many areas that are frustrating because of this one concept, but I gotta tell ya, if you’re looking for something that’ll take you back and make you feel like an 80s action hero, this is it!

Conclusion

I am terribly sorry it took me this long to get another one of these pumped out. Truth be told, I actually started working on the next one before I realized this one wasn’t even complete! D’oh! In any case, I hope you enjoyed and hopefully I can get the next one up as quick as possible. Especially after this most recent Steam sale, well…I’ve got plenty more to talk about.

Leave a comment

Filed under PC, Retro, Steam Roundup, Videogames

Leave a Reply

